It's been over a month since Alabama's texting while driving law went into effect. However, Alabama state troopers are writing few citations. Published reports indicate on 14 were issues statewide and none in most southeast Alabama counties. One was issued in Houston County.
Trooper Kevin Cook said the numbers are not for lack of law enforcement patrol."We haven't changed our patrolling habits because our job is to enforce all motor laws." Cook said. "I can't say there has been a decline in texting while driving because I still see people doing it,""Accidents happen in a split second. It's an epidemic across the United States," he said. "It's an epidemic that Alabama law enforcement hopes can be cured with increased education.
"Texting is a primary offense stop," said Cook. "I can pull you over and write you a citation for texting."
With that citation comes a $25 fine for a first offense, a $50 fine for the second, and $75 fine for the third.