Alabama law makers are broadening the 'Move Over' law to include utility vehicles.
Beginning Wednesday police will be cracking down on drivers who don't comply.
Now drivers have to move over if a utility vehicle is on the side of the highway.
If you're on a two lane road and can't move over, you're supposed to slow down to 15 miles below the posted speed limit.
If you don't comply you can be fined $25 dollars the first time, $50 for the second violation and $100 for the third offense.
Alabama State Trooper Kevin Cook said the new law gives utility workers the same protection as first responders.Cook said, "It's very dangerous for the utility workers, very dangerous for the flagman on the road. We had a case last year where an Alabama Department of Transportation flagman was killed out there on the road from a distracted driver."
The state law already requires motorists to move over if law enforcement or emergency vehicles are stopped on the side of the road.