Beginning August 1st, people who try to sell stolen metal will face stiffer penalties in Alabama. It's part of statewide crack down on metal thieves.
Starting Wednesday, people selling metal must agree to new guidelines like having their picture taken.
They'll also have to provide an identification card, their vehicle license plate number, and a description of their automobile.
That information will be put into a statewide database.
Sergeant Rachel David with the Dothan Police department said the stiffer penalties could act as a deterrent for metal thieves.
"We see no problem in getting compliance from our local businesses. Everyone in our area often compiles will these laws. They are very helpful in an investigation. The bottom line scrap metal dealers don't want to purchase stolen goods no more than we want them to," said David.
Under the new law, if the stolen metal is worth more than $250 the crime becomes a Class C felony.
That could mean up to 10 years in prison. Mississippi recently passed a similar law.